Mahalo!

In June of 2010, I was fortunate enough to have the opportunity to travel to the Big Island of Hawaii.  I spent two weeks there, travelling around the island and enjoying the sights, people, and experiences that encompass the “Aloha Spirit”.  While I was there, I got to visit a couple of craft breweries, including the Kona Brewing Company in Kailua-Kona.  I wrote about the visit and the experience on Hop Press; it was a great time.  The other side of that, however, is that I now know how good Kona’s beers are… at the brewery.  On tap anywhere in Hawaii.  And unfortunately, most of the best are not available on the mainland.  My favorite was the Castaway IPA, which is not available in bottles, sadly.  Draft only.  But I was excited to hear the announcement last month that Kona was releasing their Aloha Series seasonal, Koko Brown, on the east coast for the first time.  This looks to be a traditional brown ale, but brewed with toasted coconut chips.  Having tried several coconut-style beers, I am definitely looking forward to this one.

As luck would have it, I have been invited to the official “Press Junket” in Cocoa Beach next weekend, complete with SUP (Stand Up Paddleboarding), brewing discussion, and a talk from a Florida coconut grower!  I am very excited – and honored – to have been invited.  Apparently there are only a “select few” that were asked to come, and some are from some well-known publications.

I will definitely report back on the event, as well as have a review of the beer!

Cheers!

~ by Sean Nordquist on January 4, 2012.

2 Responses to “Mahalo!”

  1. Hmm, my invitation must have been lost in the email. 🙂

    But then, I’m not a fan of coconut, though I’ve had a few beers brewed with it that weren’t bad.

    But seriously, have a great time. Looking forward to your report!

  2. […] I mentioned last week, I was fortunate enough to be invited to a special “press junket” by Kona Brewing […]

Leave a Reply

 
