Mother, Mother Ocean… I Have Heard You Call…

I’m 40 today.

There, now you know.  In some ways it has seemed to take forever to get here.  I never really thought I would ever be 40.  It just didn’t seem possible.  In other ways, it feels like it has come on like a freight train, like just yesterday I was graduating high school and wondering what I was going to do with my life, and more importantly… where is the next party?  So I guess somethings don’t change…

I am 40 now.  Married for nearly 14 years, father of 11- and 7- year old boys, homeowner, professional educator and freelance writer.  I am already getting the questions: how does it feel?  How does it compare to when you turned 30?  20?  What are you looking forward to in the next decade?  What do you want to define your 40s?  What defined your 30s?

All good questions, I suppose.  None with a simple answer; few answers I am going to give publicly, quite honestly.  Introspection is a good thing at these life milestones.  At least, it is if you are honest and willing to really pay attention.  Otherwise it is a useless and self-deceiving exercise.  I am using this time to take a look at what I have done over the past few years, what worked and what didn’t, what made me happy and what didn’t, and then using those to take on the next ten years or so.  And I’ll leave it at that for now.

As for how does it feel?  It feels strange.  It is a reality check.  It is a reminder.   It is sobering (figuratively, of course) and at the same time affirming, since I am still alive and (relatively) healthy.  It’s a bit unbelievable.  And it is really just a number.

Cheers!

~ by Sean Nordquist on April 28, 2011.

One Response to “Mother, Mother Ocean… I Have Heard You Call…”

  1. Get off my lawn, kid!

    From my viewpoint just on the other side of my fifth decade, each of these “milestone” ages started the best 10 years of my life. My 40s were better than my 30s, my 30s better than my 20s, and so on.

    I’ve learned from my (and others) mistakes and successes and try to apply that knowledge going forward.

    Happy birthday, buddy, and I hope you find your 40s as fruitful and fun as mine were

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

 
