What You See is Not Always What You Get

A lesson we must not forget
One never knows what to expect
So close your eyes and what you get
Is what you see and what you get.

A few things to touch on this week…

The first tasting of the new St. Pete Wheat was a good one.  Great crowd at the Ale and the Witch in St. Pete, and brief but enjoyable talk with Michele from St. Pete Brewing.  I liked the beer, too, which was good.  Light, summery with some good citrus flavors.  I could definitely see drinking this during the summer.  Currently they are contract brewing using their recipe, but through a brewery in Baltimore.  Meanwhile, they are looking for a location here in town to put their brewery.  I am hoping to sit down with them soon and get some more details and find out more about what they are planning.

I mentioned it already, but I had the pleasure of joining Phil and Mike on United We Drink last week and the podcast went live on Friday.  Came out pretty well, I must say.  It was lots of fun, and I think we had some good discussion.  I look forward to doing it again, or even being a guest on anyone else’s podcast, if they’ll have me.

Not directly beer related, but the stage is set for the Stanley Cup Playoffs.  The one sport I am passionate about and love above all others is ice hockey.  Every year, I make my predictions on who will advance, she here we go:

Eastern Conference

Washington (1) vs. N.Y. Rangers (8) – Rangers in 6
Philadelphia (2) vs. Buffalo (7) – Flyers in 6
Boston (3) vs. Montreal (6) – Bruins in 5
Pittsburgh (4) vs. Tampa Bay (5) – Lightning in 6

Western Conference

Vancouver (1) vs. Chicago (8) – Canucks in 6
San Jose (2) vs. Los Angeles (7) – Kings in 7
Detroit (3) vs. Phoenix (6) – Red Wings in 5
Anaheim (4) vs. Nashville (5) – Ducks in 5

Now I know that some of these predictions fly in the face of conventional wisdom, but I am basing my picks on historical performance and meltdowns, injuries to key players, and recent play.  Let the games begin.

I was surprised and touched by the outpouring of sympathy and condolences from readers and followers alike out there in the beer community about the loss of my dog, Luna.  Many of you I have never spoken to or communicated with directly, but the sincere and heartfelt notes I got were amazing.  Thank you all so much.  It just goes to prove once again that beer people are good people (#beerpeopleRgoodpeople).

Cheers!

~ by Sean Nordquist on April 11, 2011.

3 Responses to “What You See is Not Always What You Get”

  1. You’ve got the Western Conference 4/5 and 3/6 matchups mixed up but your winners are correct. Go Wings & Bolts!

  2. I used to live down in Tarpon Springs. Glad to see that the craft beer is finally starting to get a bigger foot hold down there. Not too much local variety from when I was there 5 years ago. I do run a beer website now in Wisconsin, with a live webcast on Fridays. If you are ever interested in talking with us on the show, or doing a guest piece from FL, or vice versa, let me know.

    Thanks,

    Chris

  3. Well your write ups are great! I do however feel your a bit off with a pick of your Stanley cup. The Sharks are not going to lose the first round to the kings in 7, they will win in 6. This is the only one I can disagree with.

    Thanks,

    J

Leave a Reply

 
